Highlight Love

Highlighting is one of those magical makeup tricks that takes my skin from dull and tired looking, to alive and healthy looking. I’ve tried quite a few different highlighters and illuminizers in the past and plan on testing out a lot more in the future. The ones I’ve chosen to share with you today are some powder highlighters in my makeup stash that I’ve been reaching for the most these days.


TheBalm Mary-Lou Manizer Highlighting Powder


I purchased this beauty for $8 on Hautelook a few months ago. Every now and then, theBalm products come up and I try to grab a product or two because I really like some of their cosmetics.  The website describes the shade as honey-hued and suggests that it can be used as a highlighter, shadow or body shimmer. This product retails for $24.00. It’s a really beautiful colour and I can use it year round, on my fair winter skin and when I have a bit more colour in the summer months. You can shop it here.

Too Faced Candlelight Glow Highlighting Powder Duo


The Sephora website describes the shade of this highlighter as sheer gold/gilded rose and retails for $38.00. Candlelight Glow is the first highlighter I had ever purchased. It’s really pretty, kind of a cool-toned pinky gold shade on my skin. I usually skip this one in the summer months because it shows up a bit cool on my skin but, in the winter months, it looks amazing. Definitely makes my dull, winter dried skin look healthy and more luminous. Beautiful highlighter. You can shop it here.

Smashbox Soft Lights Shimmer


This highlighter came in a combo gift box I purchased at Shoppers Drug Mart about a year ago. I searched the Internet and cannot find this product anywhere which makes me wonder if it’s discontinued…I hope not. It’s a really pretty, pink toned shade. I find that I can wear it any season and it always looks flattering. If you know anything about this product being discontinued, let me know! I’m curious.

Becca x Jaclyn Hill Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed – Champagne Pop (limited edition)


This is my newest highlight purchase. I have used this product quite a few times and it still looks brand new! I have to use a very light hand because even though it claims to be for all skin tones, it shows up a tad dark on my fair skin. The Sephora website describes the shade as a soft white gold w/ pinky peach undertones and retails for $46.00. It really is as beautiful as everyone says it is. Definitely a product worthy of all its hype. You can shop it here.

Swatches Together


Top to bottom: Too Faced // theBalm // Becca // Smashbox

And that’s it! My 4 highlighters that I have been reaching for the most lately. What are some of your favourites?

Have a great day!

x

follow me on twitter here // and instagram here //

5 thoughts on “Highlight Love

    1. I know, I was thinking the same thing! I have the physicians formula one in a different shade and I love that one too! I need to try mood exposure, I’ve been eyeing it online but I think I’m gonna go for it! Looks so pretty!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

