Makeup Geek Starter Kit

Happy Thursday everyone! I want to share with you my thoughts on the Makeup Geek Starter Kit. I’ve been a subscriber of Marlena’s YouTube channel Makeup Geek for a really long time. I love her makeup tutorials and the way she teaches makeup application. As everyone who watches YouTube beauty videos knows, she launched her very own makeup line and the response and reviews from the beauty world were outstanding! For a long time, I browsed online, trying to decide if I should try her eyeshadows. I have so many already, purchasing more seemed silly. After a few months I decided to go for it. The choice of colours was difficult. There are many beautiful choices. I ended up going with the Starter Kit and Z-Palette Bundle because I didn’t have a palette to house the single shadows. The bundle came with one small, empty, black Z-palette and 9 single pan eyeshadows, each individually packaged. Shipping was fast (about a week) which is pretty normal whenever I place an order that ships to my home (in Canada) from the US.


I’ve had these shadows for about 6 months so I have had plenty of time to play. They are gorgeous. So smooth, buttery texture, so easy to blend, and very pigmented. The mixture of matte and shimmer shadows is a perfect ratio and the shades all work very well with each other. They are everything you could ask for in an eyeshadow. Especially for the price. These shadows retail for $6 (USD) individually. The Starter Kit retails for $62.00 (USD) with the Z-palette or $49.00 (USD) for the kit without the Z-palette. Makeup Geek eyeshadows have been compared by many reviewers to be on par with MAC shadows which retail for $10 (USD). The shadows are swatched below in the order of the way I have the palette set up in the above picture, top row to bottom row, shadows from left to the right (accidentally swatched them on my arm backwards…oopsie! Maybe someday I’ll get this swatching thing right!).


Creme Brulee – medium sand colour with a soft matte finish

Cocoa Bear – matte golden brown

Mocha – matte warm medium brown

 

Glamorous – bronzy, shimmery gold 

Shimma Shimma – shimmery highlight

Drama Queen – densely dark purple with a shimmery finish

 

Prom Night – pale purple with hints of grey and a shimmery finish

Unexpected – light and subtle pink matte purple blend 

Corrupt – intense matte black with small amount of sparkle 

**all shade descriptions are from the Makeup Geek website**

So, I would say that these shadows, this kit in particular, is a great way to get into Makeup Geek products if you are new to the brand or on a budget. The price is incredible for the quality of the product. I will definitely be investing in some new shadow shades and also venturing into some of the other products they offer! The reviews of the blush, foiled eyeshadow, pigments and brushes have all been excellent as well! I’m guessing it’s all worth checking out!

If you’re interested in this kit, you can shop it here!

Have you tried any Makeup Geek products? What did you think?

Have a great day!

x

Lets be friends! Follow me on twitter // and instagram //


13 thoughts on “Makeup Geek Starter Kit

Leave a Reply

