Review: Tarte Holiday Palette

Hi there! A little bit ago I shared a haul with you all and asked if you had an interest in hearing about any of the products. A few of you asked about the Tarte Light of the Party Holiday Set so, here I am! I played with it quite a bit the past week and I now have a few thoughts on it. If you’re curious, keep on reading!



I purchased this set online because there isn’t a Sephora where I live. The first thing that caught my eye was the price. This set retails for $71.00 (CND) and is a $474.00 (CND) value! That’s a HUGE savings!! I know that $71.oo is still a lot of money to spend on makeup but many popular palettes (such as the Urban Decay Naked palettes) retail for around $65.oo. With this set, you get a ton of product. The set includes 30 shadows (24 of which are never-before-seen and built into the kit), a deluxe size mascara, a travel-sized double ended shadow brush, a mirror, and a separate palette that pops out from in front of the mirror section which includes a blush, bronzer, highlighter and 6 eyeshadows. The shadows are pretty neutral and there is a good mix of shimmers and mattes. Lots of mauve, bronze, cream, champagne, plum & taupe shades. All very much up my alley when it comes to eyeshadow. I am always attracted to these types of shades. When I received the set in the mail, I was so excited to start using it.

I have to say that I am slightly disappointed with it. The shadows are beautiful shades but the pigmentation is just not that great, especially with the mattes. I found that even with a primer or base, I still had to pile on the shadow for the colour to really come out. It was not the worst pigmentation, but definitely not great. It was just ok. And I found the  shimmers to be quite chunky.


I do love the little palette that seperates from the main set! The bronzer, highlighter and the blush are gorgeous shades. They blend beautifully and are so creamy to the touch. For some reason the 6 shadows in this set are so much better in pigmentation compared to the ones in the box set. I don’t know why, but these shadows are amazing. I would definitely use this little separate kit for travel since it contains blush, bronzer, highlighter and shadows that I actually love. The only downside is that it is made of cardboard so it will probably fall apart easily if you’re not careful. The mascara is a popular one, the Lights, Camera, Lashes 4 in 1. Amazing, and also perfect for travel since it’s small. The little shadow brush is ok, not good, just ok.



Also, the packaging. It’s very pretty, the outside is covered in sequin’s and it zips closed. Very pretty to look at. But really, its very bulky and not very convenient for storage.


So, at the end of the day, I would say that even though the dollar value is huge, the only thing I really liked was the sample of mascara and the little separate palette, which I don’t think I would pay $71.00 for. I wish I would have gone with my first instinct and bought the Tarte Tartelette palette that I was originally looking at before the holiday set caught my eye. Oh well, now I know…I guess.

~side note: all the pictures were taken before I had used the set, that’s why they look unused.

Let me know if you’ve tried any of the new holiday sets that have come out this year, I would love to hear some opinions on them!

Have a great day!

x

lets be friends! follow me on twitter // and instagram //

4 thoughts on “Review: Tarte Holiday Palette

  1. Oh no! Yours is the third review I’ve read about this palette not being pigmented except for the smaller one. Shame because this one looks so irresistible! I was kind of in the same situation as you with deciding between this one and the Tartelette palette…guess I will be getting the Tartelette!

    Thanks for the review πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

