5 Product Purchase Regrets

Lately I have been feeling overwhelmed with the product “collection” I have accumulated over the past 2-ish years. For awhile I felt a huge need to have and try out every single product that was talked about on YouTube or beauty blogs. I spent a TON of money and acquired a TON of products but I never felt satisfied. And now when I look in my makeup, skincare or hair care products I get a feeling of being overwhelmed, and sometimes even a feeling of shame for spending all kinds of cash on things that I thought made me happy but really, deep down, didn’t. I’m on a mission to clear out products that I still hold on to but don’t use, and probably won’t ever use. I really just want products that I really, truly enjoy and love. I thought I would share! Once every couple of weeks I am going to go through my stuff and pick 5 things that will go to either the garbage or to a family member that would like it. Here is this weeks picks:Β 

From left to right:

CoverGirl Lip Lava in 800 Lava Luster

I thought it looked pretty in the tube but after I applied it, my lips looked like I dipped them in silver glitter. It just wasn’t a look I go for…ever.

OGX Coconut Water Weightless Hydration Oil

Definitely NOT weightless in my hair. This oil made my hair look greasy even if I just used a tiny amount. It smells nice but every time I sprayed it, some would leak out from the pump and make my hands feel really greasy.

Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles in Brightener

I love the regular concealer shades of this product but it was this particular shade that I didn’t care for. This one is the brightener and it is SO pink. Way too pink. It makes my face look strange no matter how much I blend it in.

Pantene Root Reboot Dry Shampoo

I hauled this back in June for you all and my verdict is…I hate it. It makes my hair feel so stiff and full of gunk. I’m back on the hunt for a good drugstore dry shampoo.

Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel

This one made me sad. It wasn’t cheap and I had high hopes. At first when applied it felt good but an hour after my face was so oily, ever single time, no matter how much or little I used. I have combo/oily skin and I had read reviews that were really positive but I keep trying new face creams while this one sits in the cabinet because I just don’t care for it. Maybe one of my sister’s will find it works for them so I’ll pass it along.

So that’s it for this round! It feels good to say goodbye to things I’m not loving. I have also realized I have a zillion samples that are sitting around collecting dust so I’m going to start using them and then giving some mini thoughts since some of them are high end product samples. I don’t know, I thought it would be a fun thing to do. We shall see.

Have a wonderful day!

x

follow me on twitter //and instagram //

17 thoughts on “5 Product Purchase Regrets

  1. I had the exact same problem for the longest time – felt like I had to buy and try every new product on the market, that I saw in magazines, etc. I’ve slowly used up and/or purged most of my collection now and it feels so good! Good luck πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I regret buying the clinique moisturiser too! It didn’t make my face oily as such but it just didn’t seem to do much 😦 it just sat there. Plus when I used it under my foundation it made my foundation split?! Oh the horror 😦 sad because it wasn’t cheap!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s too bad about the Clinique moisturizer. Maybe the moisture surge would work better because it’s more water based and it’s for all skin types. :/ I have dry skin so I use the Clinique for the day xD wonderful post though!

    Like

  4. You’re the only other person I know who isn’t crazy about Clinique’s yellow goo! I tried it many different times and EVERY time it’s just made my skin so greasy! The smell is bad and the texture is a bit slimy and the results are horrible. Can’t believe other bloggers rave about this product. Thank you for sharing! I also had to give my bottles away. Good thing other people like it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

