My Top 5 Picks for Drugstore Foundations

Hello everyone!

Finding a great foundation at the drugstore can be a bit tricky sometimes. There are lots of different formulas for lots of different skin types. It can be a struggle to find one that works well for your needs and looks great on the skin. Personally, I like my foundation to be mattifying (because of my combo/oily skin) but not overly thick and cakey looking. I still like my skin to look like skin and have a bit of radiance to it (to keep my skin looking healthy) but I prefer my T-zone to be matte.

There are tons out there that I have not tried yet but these are my favourite foundations from the ones I have tried. I have a few higher end foundations that I love but, these are ones that I reach for very often for day to day wear. I thought I would share, incase anyone is looking for ideas for an affordable foundation option!


My first choice is the L’Oreal True Match. I have repurchased this one a few times and it just remains my top pick for a drugstore foundation. I love the way my skin looks when I wear it and it really does last all day for me. It’s not mattifying but my skin really looks even and healthy when I wear it. It’s nothing a little powder over the T-zone won’t fix (which is something I have to do with any foundation).

Second choice goes to another one from L’Oreal. It’s the Infallible Pro-Matte 24HR. The finish is described as a demi-matte and it looks really pretty on the skin. I find that my only issue with this foundation is the shade selection. I have to mix two shades together when I don’t have a tan (which is most of the year) to get a match to my skin.

Third pick is the CoverGirl Ready, Set, Gorgeous. This one also looks nice and evens out my skin without looking too makeup-y. I reach for it often.

The next two picks are a bit more on the pricey side of the drugstore foundations. The SA at Shoppers Drug Mart told me that both Gosh and Bourjois are considered drugstore, but a step up. I thought I would include these because they are two of my absolute favourites and are definite repurchases when they are empty. The Gosh X-Ceptional Wear foundation has a light coverage but can be built up easily without looking cakey. I have had this one for quite awhile and every time I go back to it, I can’t remember why I stopped using it. I think they’ve repackaged this since I’ve purchased it but, it still looks similar. Just a tad different.

And lastly, Bourjois Air Mat foundation. This one is newer to me but the instant I put it on my face, I knew it was amazing. I feel like this foundation could possibly my favourite one ever. Even more so than my Estee Lauder Double Wear Light, and let me say, that’s a strong statement for me to make. It feels light, but evens out my skin beautifully. Love, love it!

To sum it up, for a true drugstore foundation I would pick the L’Oreal True Match as my number one. If you’re willing to pay a few extra dollars, the Bourjois Air Mat would be my next pick.

If you like similar finishes to your foundations, let me know your top drugstore picks!

Have a great Tuesday!

x

come visit me on instagram!

30 thoughts on “My Top 5 Picks for Drugstore Foundations

      1. In the UK Loreal and Bourjois are similiar prices but all drug store makeup over here’s getting more expensive. That is quite a lot for drug store foundation. I like Bourjois ones though xx

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Awesome choices! I’ve heard a lot of good things about all of your picks, and there has definitely been a lot of positive talk about the Bourjois Air Mat these days!

    I find that I’m always scared off of trying drugstore products because they don’t have testers for you to try the colour…picking a colour always feels like a shot in the dark!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! It’s definitely so hard to pick shades at the drugstore! I was lucky with the true match, air mat and x-ceptional wear because I was able to get matched by a SA but I have 3 shades of the infallible and 3 of the RSG because I couldn’t figure out my shade haha! πŸ˜¬πŸ™ˆ

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I used L’Oreal True Match years ago. It has a nice natural finish – I only wish the bottle design was beter! I see that in Europe, their bottles come with a PUMP! SO jealous.
    I had the Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Gel Foundation and it looked nice first applied but it oxidized on me and it smelled funny.
    Have you ever tried CoverGirl Outlast Stay Fabulous foundation? It’s my favourite from the drugstore – really nice coverage and wears so long.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I’m also jealous of the True Match packaging in Europe!! Way WAY better than ours! I have the Healthy Mix Serum as well. I use the lightest shade and I agree, it definitely oxidizes! I haven’t tried the Outlast Stay Fabulous yet! I have heard some good things so I think that will be my next one! I looked once but couldn’t figure out my shade match. Next time I’ll ask someone for help so I don’t end up buying 5 different ones trying to figure it out haha!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I really like the CG Ready Set Gorgeous foundation as well but I prefer to use it in the summer as its a little too dry for me in the winter.

    I second Stash Matters recommendation of the CG Outlast Stay Fabulous foundation – its my absolute favorite foundation I’ve ever tried. Totally did not expect to love it as much as I do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m definitely going to give Outlast a try!
      I agree with you about the Ready Set Gorgeous, it was the nicest on my skin last summer. I can wear it in the winter still but in the summer it just looked better.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m definitely going to try the L’Oreal Pro-Matte next, i’ve been hearing such great things about it! I’m using Ready, Set, Gorgeous at the moment and unfortunately i’m not a fan:( The coverage is just a bit to sheer and light for me, as I prefer medium to full coverage.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. currently having a foundation crisis because the true match oxidizes on my skin and turns peachy orange. it’s terrible. I’m going to check out the infallible pro matte and the ready set gorgeous

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

