Product Thoughts | Sephora Favourites Items

Hi everyone! I hope you’re all having a wonderful day today! Lately I have been using a bunch of the products from all those Sephora Favourites sets I had purchased and posted about in the past. After using some of the products for some time, I thought it was time to let you know how I feel about a few! There is still many more items to try out so keep a lookout for that post in a few more weeks!

First is First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream. The package says it is “intense hydration for dry parched skin.” I made the mistake of using this for a couple of days as a daily face moisturizer. It was way too thick for my combo/oily skin, even in these bitter winter months. My face broke out quite a bit and it looked quite oily. I will save this cream for my cuticles and extra dry patches on my body. I feel like I probably will not purchase this in full size once it is used up. It just isn’t a necessary product for me.

Next, Korres Wild Rose face moisturizer. The packaging reads it’s a “brightening 24 hour moisturizer for all skin types.” I want to start off by saying that I really wanted to love this one. The scent is of roses and it’s so pretty. I’m very drawn to anything that smells like roses. It is very brightening on the skin but for me, it’s just too thick. I keep using it though because it doesn’t seem to break me out. I use the tiniest amount to keep from getting too thick but still, it’s not the right formula for me. I have learned that moisturizers with a cream-gel texture seem to work the best on my skin. Sadly, I do not think I will purchase the full size of this when it is finished.

In keeping with this line, the Korres Wild Rose night moisturizer was in a different set from the day cream. I was happy to test them out together to see how they perform as a daily/nightly duo. The package calls it an “advanced brightening sleeping facial.” I do have to say that I like how this night cream felt on my face more so than the day cream. The scent is of roses, which again, I love. Even though I enjoyed using this cream up, I don’t think I will purchase the full size. The one I’m currently using (First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Hydra-Firm Sleeping Cream) is more budget friendly and gives my skin nicer results in the mornings.

Ole Henriksen Invigorating Night Treatment was a total surprise for me. The packaging says it an “overnight resurfacer with 12 AHA complex.” I had not heard any reviews on this product and I have to say, I was not excited to try it out. This sat in my cupboard for awhile before I tried it out. This product is used at night, after cleansing and before moisturizing. The first thing I noticed when I opened this up was the scent. I cannot describe it…it’s disgusting. I almost closed it and put it back because it grossed me out so much. The texture is watery-gel like and it absorbs into the skin very quickly. The first time I used it, my skin had a few pre-existing blemishes. When I applied the treatment, the spots on my face started to sting, very intensely. They were in a lot of pain. Once the stinging calmed down, I applied my night cream and went to bed. The next morning, the spots were completely dried up and basically gone. My skin looked and felt so plump and smooth. I couldn’t believe it. I now use this little guy a few times a week and when it’s empty i’ll definitely be purchasing the full size. For me, it’s amazing. Even if I don’t feel like putting it all over my face, sometimes I use it as a spot treatment for blemishes.


The Boscia Sake Treatment Water is supposed to hydrate and brighten the skin. It is a step in your skincare that you take in between cleansing and a serum. It’s supposed to assist products that are applied after this to absorb deeper in the skin and to enhance their benefits. The water is quick absorbing and feels nice, but I personally feel like it didn’t do anything for my skin that is worth the price tag. I used the entire bottle hoping to notice a difference because for whatever reason, I really wanted to love this product. But, I just didn’t notice any difference at all. I won’t be purchasing this one.

Shiseido Benefiance WrinkleResist24 was another product that really surprised me. The package says it’s an “intensive eye contour cream.” The first time using it, I was positive I would not like it. Normally for a daytime eye cream I like them to be thin and absorb quickly into the skin so that concealers and makeup go on smoothly. This cream was a bit thicker and it took a bit to absorb but, my concealer always blended so beautifully and continued took great all day, everyday. Even thought it was thicker and creamier, it never felt heavy or oily. Being in my 30’s, it’s important to keep my under eyes hydrated. I think that when the eye cream I have in my cupboard currently is finished, this one just might be the one I purchase.

Next, Sunday Riley Luna Sleeping Night Oil. The packaging reads “advanced Retinol Ester combined with soothing blue essential oils for an overnight facial”. Let’s be real for a second and just say it…this product, in its full size, is expensive and very hyped about. I have heard lots of positive and a few negative opinions on this little guy so I was very pleased to receive a generous sample size of it. I use it maybe 2 or 3 times a week and I’m in love. Every morning after using this I wake up and my skin looks so pretty and refreshed. I don’t love the scent but I do love the results. I’m considering biting the bullet and purchasing the full size once this is finished.

Lastly (for now), is the L’Occitane Shea Butter. I love the little tin it comes in, perfect to throw in my bag. I use this on my cuticles and nail beds, which are always dry and in need of some love. Or, i’ll use it on dry spots on my body, run a tiny amount through the ends of my poor, winter parched hair or on my kids skin. My boys have sensitive skin so when i see an area that looks dry or red, I rub some of this shea butter on them and so far it helps every time. I do like it but I don’t really know if it’s a product I will purchase once it’s empty. I can’t decide if it’s necessary for me or not.

Actually, there is one other product that I no longer have the packaging of. It was accidentally thrown out before i could talk about it. It was the Origins Night-A-Mins night moisturizer. I used it all up and liked it but, some time ago I had purchased the oil-free version and loved it. This one is good too but I found it was a bit thick for me. They both had the same wonderful citrus scent. I would definitely purchase the oil-free Night-A-Mins again.

And that’s it so far! Like I said in the beginning of the post, there are still items from the “Favourites” sets to test out so once I use them for a bit I will do a similar quick review type of post on them as well! Hope you enjoyed this! Talk soon!

x

Stacey T

come visit me on instagram!

 

23 thoughts on “Product Thoughts | Sephora Favourites Items

  1. I feel the same about the Korres wild rose moisturizer. It doesn’t adsorb so well into my combo skin. I use the Korres wild rose serum right before and that one stinks! It was pricey so I’m just trying to use it up, but yeah, don’t see much brightening effects though…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have been desperate for the Sunday Riley oil for sooooo long! I have endless positive reviews on it, but like you I just need to bite the bullet and buy it!! x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the reviews! I’ve always wanted to try Sunday Riley products – had no idea their line was available at Sephora!

    The Shiseido eye cream is one of my holy grails, although I only use it at night because I haven’t figured out how to wear it during the day with makeup on, as the cream causes my makeup to crease – awesome that it was able to work for you! I’ll have to give it another try.

    The Ole Henriksen Night Treatment sounds intriguing. I’m scared to try it due to the way you described the scent, but it sounds like it gave you amazing results!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No problem! I was excited to try out so many new products! After trying Luna I definitely want to try something else from Sunday Riley! The Shiseido eye cream really surprised me! I don’t think I would have ever purchased it on my own but I think I’m going to now. The Ole Henriksen treatment was so surprising, I’ve never tried a product like it before! Might not be suitable for dry skin so much because it’s so drying on the skin (I guess that’s why it’s so good at banishing pimples) but it works great for me!! Thanks for reading!! x

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve tested that First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream at the store (and I might have a sample of it at home from a Black Friday sale) and I agree, it’s REALLY thick. I think it’s meant more for ezema prone skin.
    I’ve been wanting to try Korres face products – they seem really good quality and not TOO crazy expensive like a lot of the fancy natural brands popping up at Sephora lately. I’ll have to remember the night cream.
    Shiseido Benefiance WrinkleResist24 is my HG night time eye cream. I keep wanting to stray but I always return to it. It’s pricey but a jar lasts forever since it’s so rich.
    Ugh I was hoping you’d say you hated the Sunday Riley Luna Sleeping Night Oil…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll probably end up using the Ultra Repair Cream on my kids since they get dry skin so easily.
      I really wanted the Korres day cream to work, it sounded so nice. The night one was nicer, I think! Let me know if you try it! The Shiseido eye cream is on my list for sure now. I wouldn’t have ever purchased it on my own so I’m happy I got to try it out! It is amazing!
      I wish I could say the Luna was bad, but it wasn’t!!! I’ve been eyeing a few other oils from SR lately…I feel like I’m going to be charging up the old credit card soon haha! 🙈😬

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Really!! I need to try more of their products! I always look online but I just haven’t done it yet. I wish there was a store or counter here so I could see/smell all the goodies. I’m gonna have to go for it! Thanks!!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I really want to try that Ole Henrickson night treatment now, but maybe I’ll go yo Sephora to sniff it first. Does the scent linger?
    The FAB Ultra Repair Cream works amazingly well as a hand cream, especially at this time of year. My hands are like chronically dry and prone to eczema though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel like it lingers for a bit. If it wasn’t so good to my skin inprobavly wouldn’t have kept it around because the smell really bothers me. I’m going to stick that FAB cream in my bag for my hands when I’m out! They always feel dry. Thanks!!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m sorry to hear the First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream made you break out! I’ve found it’s one of the few moisturizers that doesn’t make me break out. It’s also the only thing I’ve found to get rid of the super stubborn dry patches on my face. For me, it’s a lifesaver!

    Also, the Sunday Riley Luna Sleeping Night Oil sounds intriguing!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Agreed.. the FAB moisturizer was too heavy for me but worked excellent on my husband’s eczema! I haven’t tried an Ole Henrickson or Shiseido product that I haven’t liked yet, especially the masks and eye treatments. Nice Review, thanks.
    ~Kristy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

