Product Thoughts | Sephora Favourties Items & More – Part 3

Hello!! Is anyone still there!!?? I just looked and it has been 5 months since my last post! Sheesh!! School started for me last September and although I knew it would be challenging, I have been blown away by how insane and intense this program is. Today though, I had my very first skills test, which involved doing a couple of the skills we have learned so far on a pretend patient in the simulation lab at our college. We didn’t know which skills we would have to perform until we started our test so I was really nervous. I get terrified when I have to “perform” in front of someone while they critique me. But good news, I did PERFECT!! All those days and hours of studying and practicing sure paid off today! So, since tonight I have zero homework, I thought I would write the post I have been trying to write for almost 5 months now. We’re going to talk about a few products (mostly deluxe size samples) that I have received through various Sephora Favourties boxes and such. I still have a zillion more to try out but these are the ones I have tried so far:

Mascara:

Tarte Tarteist Lash Paint is a mascara I was looking forward to trying. I had read quite a few positive reviews so when I saw this one offered as a 100 point perk on the Sephora site I jumped on it. I only used it a couple of times and I have come to the conclusion that I do not like this one. I have said before that since I have naturally long eyelashes, volume is what I look for in a mascara and this Tarte one lacked in that department, big time. If volume isn’t high on your mascara checklist then maybe check the Lash Paint out, but for me…no. Next up, Benefit Roller Lash. I have read mixed reviews of this mascara and Benefit’s other mascara called They’re Real. The impression that I have gotten is that most people prefer this one over They’re Real. I tried this mascara over and over, trying to like it but I just couldn’t. I felt like it did nothing at all for my lashes. I felt that way about They’re Real the first few times trying it as well but after a bit, I started to really like it. Roller Lash doesn’t hold a curl for me and like I said, just does nothing. Again, if you’re not looking for lots of volume maybe you would enjoy this mascara. Last on the mascara list is another one by Tarte. Tarte Light, Camera, Lashes is a mascara that, prior to this, I have tried and LOVED. So, either the formula has changed or this little guy is just a bad batch because it was terrible. And, it had a horrible smell to it which leads me to believe this was a bad batch. I think I would like to either try another sample size or even a full size before I write it off because it was so good the last time I used it. Before, it gave a full, fluttery look to the eyelashes. This time it just wouldn’t stick to my lashes and like I said, it was very stinky. I have no verdict on this one yet but I would like to try it again from a different tube.

Eye Cream:

Bobbi Brown Hydrating Eye Cream came with a Bobbi Brown set I purchased a while ago. I have read some pretty positive reviews about this so I tried it right away. It was okay. Nothing to write home about I guess. It was thick but not too thick, hydrating but not greasy. I don’t know what it is about it but I just don’t think I would purchase the full size. It wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t for me. The Caudalie Premier Cru The Eye Cream came in a Favourites box and I kept it out at our camp and used it daily (and nightly) out there. I liked it. It feels similar (to me) to the Bobbi Brown eye cream I just talked about. I feel like it has all the components to an eye cream I look for but for some reason, I just don’t love it enough to purchase a full size. Both creams were good, but I’m going to keep looking for one that’s perfect for me.

Face Moisturizer:

Tarte Drink of H2O was a moisturizer I was excited to try. I love gel formulas for my skin and this one is just that. It has a scent that I just cannot quite put my finger on to describe it but I personally don’t find it bothersome. Unfortunately, this broke me out almost immediately. I kept trying to use it but the breakouts on my forehead wouldn’t stop so I had to put this down. Since stopping, the breakouts are starting to minimize so I’m pretty sure this moisturizer was to blame. Darn. Next, L’Occitane Pivoine Sublime Creme Perfectrice. I wasn’t sure what to expect with this cream because I hadn’t heard too much about it. I read some reviews and they were mostly positive. No matter how little I used, it clogged my pores. I broke out often and my face would oil up quickly during the day when I used this. I love L’Occitane products so I was disappointed when this didn’t work out but my skin is fairly sensitive so I can’t win them all I guess. Last, Perricone MD Face Finishing Moisturizer. This one is a bit thicker than I normally use but it didn’t break me out, which is a bit strange. Usually creams with this consistency leave me with a pimple face. And, it stinks. The smell grosses me out. Not enough to not use it, but it’s not pleasant. I do find that I get oily quickly during the day when I use this in the mornings so I do not think I will be purchasing this later on. I have tried others that I prefer over this cream.

Face Extras:

Tata Harper Hydrating Floral Essence was nice. I brought this out to camp with me this summer and used it often. I liked the pump and the spray was nice and fine. It made my skin feel and look refreshed which was really nice after a day at the beach or the morning after a late night around a campfire. I believe the full size is quite pricey so i am not 100% sure if I would purchase it but it’s definitely on my list of products to remember. And the last item I wanted to talk about is the Fresh Black Tea Instant Perfecting Mask. The texture is interesting, sort of grainy but not really. It’s hard to explain. The smell is so familiar as well. Like something I’ve eaten before but i can’t put my finger on what it is. I sometimes use this mask quickly in the mornings (if I have a few extra minutes). It leaves my skin feeling nice and soft. Again, I think the full size is quite pricey and I am not too sure it the results are worth it but I’m going to keep this mask in my list of products to remember as well because I am still on the fence about loving it or not.

So that’s it for this round! Hopefully you enjoyed reading this as much as I enjoyed trying out some new products! I wanted to say a big thank you to those of you who are still here with me, even though I have been away for so long. Like I said earlier, my program has become sort of “all consuming” and because school is not something that has ever come easily to me, I am trying my very best. I’ll try to be more active on my blog but just know that even if I’m not posting or commenting often I still scroll through my feed and read your posts as often as I can πŸ™‚ Hopefully we’ll talk again soon! Have a wonderful Monday everyone!

x

Stacey T

come say hi on instagram!

17 thoughts on “Product Thoughts | Sephora Favourties Items & More – Part 3

  1. Welcome back!! Congrats on your test, that’s amazing!
    It’s too bad you only loved about half of these products! Although I guess that’s the beauty of those Sephora Favourites kits – you get to try out a whole bunch of products for a fraction of the price, and hopefully there are a few items in there that will work for you.
    I’ve been really wanting to try the Tarte Rainforest of the Sea skincare line, but at the same time, I’m iffy about a makeup brand coming out with skincare. So bad it broke you out immediately, but it’s a good thing you were able to narrow it down to this product.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! It was so fun to finally be able to write a post!
      I was pretty bummed about a few of the products but at the same time they were not terrible, just not for me I guess. I cannot stop with those Sephora sets haha! I have about half of the Tarte H2O moisturizer left and I think I want to try it again because I was pretty stressed out during the time I was using it. Now that things have calmed down a bit I feeling better. Maybe my breakouts were stress related? I don’t know, but I really wanted to like this so I’ll try again! If you end up trying it let me know! I’m curious about other items from the collection.

      Like

  2. Welcome back! And I hope you do good on the rest of your studies!! πŸ™‚

    I can’t believe a lot of these products weren’t as amazing as they’re hyped to be lol. That’s what scares me about buying high end stuff because it’s a lot of money if it doesn’t work for me lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, it’s such a bummer when you pay good money for something you don’t like. That’s why I’m obsessed with the Sephora Favourites sets. Half the time I end up not liking most of the things I thought I would love.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I hardly buy anything high end but I really love the sets they have and the products they put together. I will have to buy one someday. Perhaps Christmas would be a great time for one of those sets haha.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. You are speaking my language, girlfriend! I am so excited how well your test went. I can’t wait to explore your blog and thank you for the awesome makeup suggestions. Sephora is the place (or Ulta- but we won’t go there hehe). Thanks for sharing ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great products! And welcome back haha! I understand that school can get so busy sometimes. I loved the review you gave πŸ™‚ I’ve tried tarts products before and they usually give great results!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! Thank you! I think I’m going tongi enter H2O another chance because when I was trying it out I was also really stressed out so I’m wondering if that has something to do with the breakouts. I don’t know, we’ll see! x

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Welcome Back – nice to see you around again! πŸ™‚

    I’m always on the hunt for my perfect mascara too – haven’t found it as of yet. I have decent length on my lashes so I like volume, lots and lots of volume. I didn’t mind the Tarteist mascara but I agree, it didn’t add a ton of volume. And I though Roller Lash was okay – not worth the price tag. And I had the same experience with the Lights Camera Lashes mascara – I had one tube that I loved and another one that I just opened recently that was just horrible. Gotta love inconsistent formulas… ;(

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I missed chatting about beauty these days πŸ™‚
      Mascaras can be so disappointing. Every time I feel like I find one I love, the next tube lets me down. The hunt continues…

      Like

Leave a Reply

