Disappointing Product | REN

Hello friends!

I hope you are all having a wonderful day/week! Today I wanted to write a quick post on a product I purchased ages ago, tested out for about three weeks and ultimately, gave up on. I have been holding on to it, trying to write this review before I got rid of it. Finally, here we are! I want to start off by saying that I have loved every REN product that I have tried. They make one of my very favourite facial serums. I had high hopes for this one but unfortunately, I was left pretty disappointed in the end. The product I’m talking about is called the Keep Young and Beautiful Instant Firming Beauty Shot.


 The sephora.ca website states:

“A daily gel-serum that instantly, visibly firms, lifts, plumps, and primes the skin with a double dose of hyaluronic acid for a dramatically smoother, tighter, and more hydrated appearance.”

Now, that sounds pretty wonderful, doesn’t it! I read the reviews and they were mostly glowing. According to all those reviews, this was a miracle serum that I needed to have. So, for the price of $65.00 (CND), it became mine. First off, it’s pricey. If I liked the product, I could warm up to it (maybe) but for something that was so disappointing, I was upset that I spent so much $$ on it. It’s packaged in glass, has a dropper for application and contains 1.02 fl oz (30mL) of product.

I applied this serum after cleansing my face in the mornings and then followed with a moisturizer. While rubbing the moisturizer into my skin, I would notice that my face would start to get those little balls that products sometimes do. Is that called pilling? I’m gonna call it pilling…Anyway, it started to pill. I decided to start trying to wait longer after applying the serum to do my moisturizer, to let the serum really sink in, but the same thing would happen. So I tried to not wear moisturizer and the same pilling would happen when I applied foundation.

I could always feel it sitting on my skin. It felt so (super duper) sticky, all the time. The serum did not want to sink into my skin and my face always felt kind of gross. Like, dirty.

I wish I liked this serum because (like I said earlier) REN makes some beautiful skincare products and this one sounded amazing. It must work for some people because there was a ton of positive reviews but for me, it is a total miss.

Have you tried any products by REN? What are your favourites?!

I hope the rest of your week is wonderful! Thanks for reading 🙂

x

Stacey T

come visit me on instagram!

3 thoughts on “Disappointing Product | REN

  1. Aw that’s so disappointing! I had that exact same problem with the Bare Minerals Complexion Rescue that everyone raves about and I tried it with multiple moisturizers. So frustrating when that happens! Are you able to return it – it’s so pricey!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh no! I have been eyeing the Bare Minerals one! That stinks, I was hoping it was amazing. I don’t think I can return it, I purchased it months ago and I don’t have a receipt anymore 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

