Tinted Moisturizers

Hello!

The past few weeks I have been into using tinted moisturizers as a base instead of a heavier foundation. My skin has been fairly decent (minus a few breakouts) so I have been enjoying using something more fresh and light on my skin. I thought that I would share the two that I have been using, and loving!


Pixi H2O Skintint is a tinted face gel. The back writes:

“Cooling & hydrating. Sheer tinted water-based gel. Apply as you would a moisturizer & pat into skin.”

I really like this product. I apply it with my fingers in the mornings. Because it’s so hydrating, and because I have combo/oily skin, I don’t usually apply a moisturizer under this. It’s perfect for quick makeup in the mornings. And, it really does feel cooling to the skin when applied, which feels really reallyΒ nice. I do find myself having to use blotting papers throughout the day, but that’s normal for me anyway. This makes my skin look even but I do need to spot conceal because the coverage is extremely light. I purchased this at Shoppers Drug Mart.


The other tinted moisturizer I have been really liking is the Joe Fresh Matte Sheer Tint. I purchased this at the Superstore about two(ish) weeks ago. The back writes:

“A light-weight formula with a hint of colour for shine-free, velvety coverage.”

I have been really enjoying this one as well. The coverage is very light (as with the Pixi tint), if you have lots of redness or anything you are trying to conceal, this won’t be for you. I use my fingers or a buffing brush to apply this and it makes my skin look nice and even. I don’t know if I would say it makes my skin matte because, as with the Pixi tinted moisturizer, I find myself having to use blotting papers throughout the day. But again, that’s normal.


Swatched: top ~ Joe Fresh | bottom ~ Pixi

If you are looking for a light base, I suggest trying one of these products out. As I said above, the coverage is extremely sheer, but they make my skin look healthy and fresh. It has been a nice, refreshing change from heavier foundations and I can definitely see myself continuing to use these throughout the spring and summer as well. As long as my skin doesn’t start to act up.

Have you tried these tints? What did you think of them? Do you have a favourite tinted moisturizer? I would love to try more!

Thanks for reading! I hope you all have a wonderful day today!

x

Stacey T

come visit me on instagram // twitter //

13 thoughts on “Tinted Moisturizers

  1. Thanks for the reviews! πŸ™‚ I’ve been curious about the Pixi Skin Tint and how works out for those of us with combination skin.
    My favorite tinted moisturizers have been from Physicians Formula, because they blend well with my skin color, are very lightweight but last all day, and they don’t cause my skin to breakout (so long as I stay away from the ones with Argan oil). I often skip wearing foundation when I wear their Super BB #InstaReady cream in Light – Love it ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m creating a mental list of things I want from Pixi and the H2O Skintint might be one I need! I really like being able to apply base makeup with my fingers – I find it melts into the skin better.
    I use blotting papers once a day no matter what foundation I use – I’d rather do that than having something super matte on my skin which doesn’t look natural.

    Like

    1. Yes! I also like to apply with my fingers. The effect is really nice. I feel like every time I see the Pixi section I spot more things that look really nice. It’s so hard to resist 😬

      Like

  3. I really love the Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer, such amazing coverage for just a tinted moisturizer. Have you tried any of the other Joe Fresh products? I always see them when I am back at home and am so tempted to buy a few things!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

