Kat Von D | Alchemist Holographic Palette

Hello friends! I hope you are all having a wonderful week, so far! A few days ago I received my online order from Sephora. One of the items I ordered is the Kat Von D Alchemist Holographic Palette, which is completely out of my makeup comfort zone. It had been out-of-stock on Sephora.ca for quite awhile and I suppose at some point, I signed up for an email to inform me when it was re-stocked. I got the email and decided to just go for it! There’s something about it that caught my attention. I’m normally attracted to more natural makeup shades but lately, the colours have been calling to me.

My first impression when I saw the package was that it was tiny! Smaller than I expected. For a bit of a reference, I held it in my hand to show you.

It comes with four highlighing shades. Top left is emerald {green}, top right is saphyre {blue}, middle is amethyst {ultra-violet} and bottom is opal {pink}.

The shades can be applied lightly for a more subtle effect or packed on for more of a punch of colour. I prefer to apply these shades very lightly to my cheekbones. What I did a couple nights ago is add a hint of the blue shade {saphyre} on top of pearl from Becca. It added a hint of colour, something kind of fun. Like I mentioned before, I’m more of a natural makeup kind of girl, but this is fun for a night out. Personally, I would not wear these during the day. But, that’s just my personal preference. If you wanted to, you definitely could!

Here they are, swatched!

L – R: emerald, saphyre, amethyst & opal

Most of the reviews I read were positive and I can see why. People talked about how it can be used as eyeshadow and a lipstick topper as well. The formula is really smooth and fine. I did not detect chunks or glitter. Just really pretty, colourful shine! It’s a bit pricey, at $44 (CND) but I justified it by telling myself that it is unique to my makeup collection. Really, it doesn’t take much to convince myself that I need  more makeup…

Even though I won’t get a ton of use from this palette, I am happy that I picked it up. It’s a bit of fun in my otherwise neutral makeup stash.

Have you tried this palette? What did you think? Have you tried any other colourful highlighters? Let me know, I’d love to hear!

Thanks for reading! I hope you all have a wonderful week!

x

Stacey T

come visit me on instagram // twitter //

12 thoughts on “Kat Von D | Alchemist Holographic Palette

  1. I don’t think I would buy this palette just because I’d never get any use out of it, but I can totally see why it’s so popular! I like the idea that it’s multi-use, and not just good as a cheek highlight. And even though the palette is so small, when is the last time anyone has ever used up a highlighter? It’ll still take a long time to get through!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! That’s how I feel about the size. I’ll never use it all…ever. I really don’t know what possessed me to buy this palette, it’s definitely not something I’d normally go for. Maybe I’ll regret it later but for now, it’s fun lol!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I can see the appeal of this palette but that triangle shape would drive me bonkers.
    I do like the idea that these colours can be like toppers / transformers on various eye shadows and blushers. That Amethyst one is gorgeous!
    I swear, companies are just throwing the words “unicorn” and “holographic” onto products these days to boost sales. πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, not glittery at all! They’re pretty fun, I think the eyes is where they’ll end up the most though. I can’t see myself wearing blue highlighter to take care of patients in the hospital lol!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

