All About Mascara

Hello!

Today I wanted to talk a little bit about four different mascara’s I have been trying out over the past few months. They are all deluxe size samples that I have acquired from various places. Some I really like and some, I do not. I thought it would be fun to share the reasons why I liked/disliked these! I’ll start with my least favourite and move up to my favourite! Lets get into it:

#4 Lancome Definicils



This mascara comes in at number four because it is just not a mascara that I enjoy. I like a volumizing mascara and this just does not give volume. I have tried this mascara several times in the past and every time, I am disappointed. If volume isn’t something you are looking for then perhaps this mascara is for you! It’s a very separating, defining and wet formula. I didn’t notice flaking or transferring on my skin when I tried this. This mascara retails for $34 (CND) here on the Sephora website.

#3 YSL Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils


This mascara is one I didn’t mind at all. The formula was a little dry and it took a long time to build up. I felt like I stood in front of the mirror forever applying layer after layer to get an effect with this mascara. I don’t have that kinda time in the mornings. But, once applied, my lashes looked really nice. Kind of fluttery. I didn’t notice any flaking or transferring. I wouldn’t purchase this because if I remember correctly, I had very similar results from one of the L’Oreal Voluminous (with the curved wand) mascara’s from the drugstore. This mascara retails for $38 (CND) here on the Sephora website.

#2 MUFE Excessive Lash



This one, I loved. A lot. When I saw the brush I didn’t think I would like it. Was I wrong! This one gave me fluttery looking lashes that were not clumpy and chunky. The amount of volume was perfect. The formula was not too dry or too wet. There also was no flaking or transferring that I noticed. It was great for daytime and evenings because it could look quite natural or be built up to be more dramatic. I think that someday I will definitely purchase this mascara in its full size! This mascara retails for $31 (CND) here on the Sephora website.

#1 Lancome Hypnose Drama


Hypnose mascara’s are one of my favourite, hands down. I hadn’t tried the Hypnose Drama prior to this, but the Hypnose I tried in the past was amazing. I had high expectations for this one and it did not disappoint. The formula was a little wetter than I normally like but it didn’t clump or chunk, my lashes looked full and pretty. This one wins (with me) over the MUFE because it was a little more dramatic looking, which is something that I really like. I don’t normally wear a lot of makeup on a day to day basis but I really like my eyelashes to stand out. When this sample is finished I will be picking up a full size, for sure!! This mascara retails for $34 (CND) here on the Sephora website.

So that’s it! Those are my thoughts on a few of the samples I have been trying out lately. I think that mascara is a personal thing and what some love, some hate. It depends what you’re looking for. Has anyone tried any of the other Lancome mascara’s? Which ones are your favourites!? I’m curious about a couple of the different formulas!

Thanks for reading! I hope you all have an amazing day. I know I have been very fickle with my blog lately. We spend the summer at our camp where there is no internet, which makes blogging difficult. On top of that, I am taking three summer classes to help make next year (my final year of college) a little less stressful. Busy, busy! Come September, I’m hoping to blog more regularly πŸ™‚

Talk soon!

x

Stacey T

come visit me on instagram // twitter //

7 thoughts on “All About Mascara

  1. Ugh, it HURTS when $30+ mascaras don’t work. I’m surprised the YSL only came in at #3, I’ve heard so many people rave about that one!

    There hasn’t been much talk about the MUFE mascara in the beauty community, I don’t think. The wand looks so old-school, like how I remember classic mascaras used to look like! I’ll definitely have to give that one and the Lancome Hypnose a try πŸ™‚

    Welcome back!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I liked the YSL but it just didn’t grip my lashes. It took soooooo long to get them to look nice. Maybe I had a bad tube? I don’t hear anything about the MUFE either. I was surprised how much I liked it!

      And thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so cheap when it comes to mascaras! I guess since I toss them out so frequently I can’t justify the cost. I use a mascara for not more than 3 months and on average just a month. I’ve only ever tried gwp / sample sizes of higher end brands and I haven’t been wow’d enough to fork over money for the full size. I refuse to pay more than $15 for a mascara! Usually it’s less than $10. I really love CoverGirl mascaras – they just seem to work well for me. For some reason I find higher end mascaras always smudge and flake on me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The last high end mascara I bought myself was the LancΓ΄me one, years ago! Any other high end mascara has also been a sample size or a gift from someone. I totally agree about the cost. I only ever buy drugstore mascara because there are awesome ones for WAY cheaper. I haven’t had luck with CoverGirl lately but some of the L’OrΓ©al and Maybelline ones have been good. This was the first batch of high end samples I’ve tried that were actually decent, with no flaking or smudging. I really want to purchase some of them but, like you said, it’s hard to really justify the cost.

      Like

  3. I really enjoyed the Lancome Hynose Drama as well, I think I got one as a sample from Sephora or something this year. Love, love, loved it! I haven’t purchased a high end mascara for awhile but I’m kind of feeling like that is going to need to change. Your post reminded me how much I loved that one, haha… Enabler!! 😜

    Like

Leave a Reply

